Home » Agenda

Agenda

This agenda may change.

Day 1 – March 11th

New Rules and New Challenges; Food Production in the times of COVID-19

Thursday, Mar 11, 2021Live PresentationsRecorded Presentations
9:00am – 9:15am AST
8:00am – 8:15am EST
María Félix, FIF Executive Director
Event Opening – Welcoming & Sponsor Acknowledgments

9:15am – 9:30am AST
8:15am – 8:30am EST
Ramón Hernández, FDA District DirectorBranch New Rules and New Challenges”
9:30am – 10:30am AST
8:30am – 9:30am EST
Edwin Ramos, FDA Director of Compliance Branch, San Juan District
New Era of Smarter Food Safety”
Jill Stuber, Food Safety Coach
How to Reclaim your Power to Thrive in Food Safety and Quality”
10:30am – 11:00am AST
9:30am – 10:00am EST
Beira Montalvo, FDA Compliance OfficerFSMA Update and Recent Rules Implemented”
11:00am – 11:15am AST
10:00am – 10:15am EST
Virtual Coffee Break
11:15am – 12:00pm AST
10:15am – 11:00pm EST
Eva Merced, FDA Food Specialist
How to Develop your Food Safety Plan”
Kristen Scott, Regulatory and Technical Affairs Consumer Brand Association
Bioengineering Disclosure and Food Industry Update”
12:00pm – 1:00pm AST
11:00pm – 12:00pm EST
Lunch BreakLuz Damaris Rosario, General Manager
Goya Foods
1:00pm – 1:45pm AST
12:00pm – 12:45pm EST
Beira Montalvo & Pearl Lopina, FDA Compliance Officers
Modernized GMP’s, 21CFR117 Subpart B”
Denise Webster, Executive Consultant at Food Brand Protection
Risk Analysis-Root Cause Investigation”
1:45pm – 2:45pm AST
12:45pm – 1:45pm EST
Pearl Lopina, FDA Compliance OfficerEducation for Compliance, Warning Letters”
2:45pm – 3:00pm AST
1:45pm – 2:00pm EST
Virtual Coffee Break
3:00pm – 3:30pm AST
2:00pm – 2:30pm EST
Laura Kennedy, FDA Compliance Officer
FDA Regulation on Facility Exempted”
Carmen S. Rivera, PhD, Hatillo NovalactBuilding a New Small Food Business – Yogurt & Artisan Cheeses”
3:30pm – 4:30pm AST
2:30pm – 3:30pm EST
Jorge Lajara, FDA Consumer Safety Officer Laura Kennedy, FDA Compliance Officer
Dietary supplements and regulation compliance; FDA interventions with COVID-19 unproven medical claims; complaints and labeling reviews”
Edna Negrón, PhD, Lead Instructor, PR Food Safety and Quality Services, Inc.
Food Safety: FSMA and Retail Challenges and Concerns
4:30pm – 5:00pm AST
3:30pm – 4:00pm EST
1st Day Closing Remarks
Lcda María de Lourdes Rivera,
Damarys Del Castillo, MS,
Angel Omar Custodio, PhD
FIF Education Committee Directors

Day 2 – March 12th

New Rules and New Challenges; Food Production in the times of COVID-19

Friday, Mar 12, 2021Live PresentationsRecorded Presentations
8:30am – 9:00am AST
7:30am – 8:00am EST
María Félix, FIFExecutive Director
Event Opening – Welcoming & Sponsor Acknowledgments

Hon. Manuel Cidre Miranda,
Secretary Department of Economic Development and Commerce


9:00am – 10:00am AST
8:00am – 9:00am EST
Melissa Hammar, JD USDA Deputy Director,
Regulations Development Staff Office of Policy and Development Food Safety and Inspection Service
USDA Regulatory Agenda”

10:00am – 10:15am AST
9:00am – 9:15am EST
Virtual Coffee Break
10:15am – 11:15am AST
9:15am – 10:15am EST
Trevor Gilbert, FDA Consumer Safety OfficerFSMA Rule on Produce Safety & Regulatory Update”Robert Norton, PhD, Professor, Auburn University & Director Food Systems InstituteFood Safety System and Water Resources as Elements in a Comprehensive Food Defense Program”
11:15am – 11:45am AST
10:15am – 10:45am EST
Cathy Groehnert, FDA Consumer Safety OfficerForeign Supplier Verification Program”
Spanish Resource List for Produce Safety Rule and FSVP Groehnert
John Spink, PhD, Director and Assistant Professor – Food Fraud Initiatives, Michigan State UniversityIntentional Adulteration Rule”
11:45am – 12:45pm AST
10:45am – 11:45pm EST
Lunch BreakKeynote Speaker
12:45pm – 1:15pm AST
11:45pm – 12:15pm EST
Mrs. Marinee Flores-Marrero, FDA Supervisory CSO, Food Operation Division 4 EastSanitary Transportation”
1:15pm – 2:00pm AST
12:15pm – 1:00pm EST
Wanda Torres, FDA Compliance OfficerRecall and Crisis Management Policies (RFR’s and Outbreaks)”Jesenia Figueroa, Programa Educativo
Red Sísmica de Puerto Rico
Tsunami Ready – Building and Contingency Plan”
2:00pm – 2:15pm AST
1:00pm – 1:15pm EST
Virtual Coffee Break
2:15pm – 3:15pm AST
1:15pm – 2:15pm EST
Live Chat with Recorded Presenters
3:15pm – 3:45pm AST
2:15pm – 2:45pm EST
Lcda. Lourdes Rivera,
Damarys Del Castillo, MS,
Angel Omar Custodio, PhD
FIF Education Committee Directors